OJHL Honouring 2022-23 Award Winners Tonight


The Ontario Junior Hockey League will be hosting a pre-game ceremony tonight prior to Game 1 of the OJHL Nutrafarms Championship Series, where the year-end award winners will be presented with their commemorative awards.

All recipients are expected to be in attendance to be honoured prior to Game 1 on Thursday, April 20, at Eddie Bush Memorial Arena in Collingwood, Ontario.  Game time is 7 p.m.

This year’s recipients are:

MVP:  Tyler Fukakusa, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Top Scorer: Tyler Fukakusa, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Top Goaltender (lowest GAA): James Norton, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Goaltender of the Year:  James Norton, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Top Defenceman:  Cooper Bertrand, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Rookie of the Year:  Riley Patterson, North York Rangers

Most Gentlemanly: Tyler Fukakusa, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Most Improved: Rhys Chiddenton, Georgetown Raiders

Coach of the Year: Vince Bellissimo, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

General Manager of the Year: Mike Dukeshire, Georgetown Raiders

Equipment Manager of the Year: Richard Judges, Collingwood Blues

Trainer of the Year: Jen Mark, Pickering Panthers

Executive of the Year:  Jason Tryfon, Milton Menace

Humanitarian of the Year: Mikael Kingo, Georgetown Raiders

Jostens Scholastic Player of the Year:  Dylan Bly, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

Volunteer of the Year: Brad Park, Haliburton County Huskies

InStat Top Prospect: Aron Jessli, Pickering Panthers

The 2023 Nutrafarms Championship Series schedule:

Game 1 – Collingwood, Thursday, April 20, 7 pm

Game 2 – Trenton, Saturday, April 22, 7:30 pm

Game 3 – Collingwood, Monday, April 24, 7 pm

Game 4 – Trenton, Wednesday, April 26, 7:30 pm

*Game 5 – Collingwood, Friday, April 28, 7 pm

*Game 6 – Trenton, Monday, May 1, 7:30 p.m.

*Game 7 – Collingwood, Wednesday, May 3, 7 p.m.

*if necessary

The best-of-seven series will determine the OJHL’s representative in the 2023 Centennial Cup in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba from May 11-21.   The nine CJHL member league champions and the host team will participate in the national championship event. 

For OJHL playoff stats, brackets and live scoring, click here:


About the OJHL – “League of Choice”

The Ontario Junior Hockey League is the largest Junior ‘A’ league operating under the auspices of the Canadian Junior Hockey League with 22 member clubs. A proud member of the Canadian Junior Hockey League and Ontario Hockey Association, the OJHL was originally named the Ontario Provincial Junior ‘A’ Hockey League and it was formed out of the Central Junior ‘B’ Hockey League in 1993-94. With a long and storied history of developing players for the next level, including U SPORTS, the NCAA, CHL, minor pro ranks and the NHL, the OJHL had more than 90 NCAA, U SPORTS, CHL and professional commitments in 2021-22 – including more than 25 NCAA Division I scholarships.

Leave a Reply